Image / Moving Image Sources: Home

If you are looking specifically for pictorial books, try using "pictorial works" as part of the search.  Look at this example search for Africa and "Pictorial works."  You can use this as a template - replace Africa with any other noun.  There are also some more advanced variants of this.

• Google Image Advanced Search
  Options to search by colour, or by usage rights
   
• Search Creative Commons
  Search or browse over 500 million images, available for reuse

• Arenapal
  Performing arts image library.  Registration is only available to professional picture researchers/buyers. 
   
• Arts on Film (BFI) 
   
• ARTstore Public Collections
   
• Bridgeman Images
  Commercial database which is searchable without subscription.  Images from a variety of museums, collections, galleries and artists covering a variety of periods and places.  Subjects covered include architecture, design, jewellery, paintings, engravings, landscapes, maps, ceramics, etc
   

• British Cartoon Archive This link opens in a new window

  Cartoons and more from British cartoonists such as David Low, Ralph Steadman, Carl Giles and Steve Bell dating back to 1904. The images have been copyright-cleared for educational use, and can be included in assignments and coursework provided that they have been properly cited.
  Hi-Res images can be requested via info@cartoons.ac.uk

• British Library Flickr albums
   
• Europeana 

  Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.

• Google Arts & Culture
  Google Arts & Culture features content from over 2000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute
   
• Library of Congress Collections
   
• New York Public Library Digital Collections
   
• VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) 

  Over 100,000 images relevant to visual art practice, contextual study and curation. Collections include the Design Council Archive, Imperial War Museum, London College of Fashion and Public Monuments and Sculpture Association.

• Warburg

If you are looking specifically for pictorial books, try using "pictorial works" as part of the search.  Look at this example search for Africa and "Pictorial works."  You can use this as a template - replace Africa with any other noun. 

Broader searches are possible by not specifying the subject field - Africa AND "pictorial works" - or by accounting for variants (Africa OR African) AND "pictorial works" or Africa* AND "pictorial works."  Although this tends to reduce the relevance of results overall, it does turn up additional relevant results, and is therefore more comprehensive.  You can balance relevance with comprehensiveness by excluding terms - (Africa* NOT American*) AND "pictorial works".