Skip to main content

Library Guides

Fashion Design: Home

The aim of this guide is to provide helpful resources and tips for research in fashion

School of Arts Librarian

James Thickins's picture
James Thickins
Contact:
Email me if there is any problem booking an online appointment. I'm very happy to talk with you, especially during lockdown when students need extra support. Normally, I work in Harrow, but currently I'm at home in North London. Bookmark me at: http://bit.ly/LibrarySchoolofArts

COVID-19 Response

The library is increasing the provision of online resources by buying additional resources.  Much of the free access to additional resources provided by publishers has now ceased (as of 1st July).  We will be subscribing to a number of new resources for the coming  year.  Make sure you look at the E-Resources tab of this guide to find sources.

The Academic Liaison Librarian team are also still available for one-to-one appointments, and providing training sessions online.  

If you can't find the book you want online, you can still put in an inter-library loan request and we will try to obtain an online copy for you.

Audiovisual resources

I have collated some BOB playlists here.

Art books

The publishers of large format visual arts books such as exhibition catalogues do not supply ebooks to libraries, so are unlikely to be able to join in with these initiatives.  This includes even relatively large publishers in that area such as Phaidon, Taschen and Thames & Hudson.  

Individual publishers might have relevant initiatives, which I am looking out for. 

Individual artists/writers may have material on their own websites. For example:

Some museums have made selected catalogues available.  For example:

You should also take a look at the digital libraries listed below.

Digital Libraries

The Internet Archive and related Open Library can be good for older material for arts subjects. Some examples include:

Registration is necessary to access some books - the same account will work on both platforms.  There is currently a legal challenge to the 'controlled digital lending' model the Internet Archive operate, which they claim to be fair use under US law.

Google Books has extensive previews of some texts submitted by publishers to promote their content, including recent texts.  For example:

Project Guttenberg is strictly limited to out of  US copyright books.  Examples include:

Public Books lists open access books from US academic publishers

Commercial offers

There are a few interesting commercial initiatives currently available.  For example:

  • Kindle - free extracts of most of academic books available on Kindle (you can read them on the Kindle app, even if you don't have a Kindle device)
  • Perlego - Access a large selection of ebooks for £12 per month.  To access the free trial, you have to give your debit card details, but it is easy to cancel.  The free trial is available from the following URL only.  Select the monthly subscription model and use the code “keeplearning”  http://www.perlego.com/keeplearning.  
  • Google Play - free extracts, purchase or rental of books
  • Apple books - free extracts or purchase
  • 1854 Digital (The British Journal of Photography) - Access membership benefits including back-copies of BJP for the next three months for £1.  Use the code TOGETHER during checkout. You can use the discount on any digital membership option; if you choose quarterly Digital Access, you will get all the benefits for £1.

Online exhibitions and performance

More information

Online learning - information regarding the university's move to online learning, including details about software (such as Adobe Creative Cloud) which you can download

Library Guides | New resources

Quick links

Welcome

Welcome to the library guide for fashion design.  The aim of this guide is to provide helpful resources and tips for research in fashion design.  The library collection includes books, magazines, journals, exhibition catalogues, CDs, and DVDs, as well as electronic resources that provide information about fashion.

Study skills and training

Library Layout

SECOND FLOOR

Main collection 740-999, journal and magazine collection, DVD collection

Fashion Design
Painters
Photography
Music
Film
Animation
Writing 

FIRST FLOOR

Key text collection 001-999, main collection 001-739, training room, toilets, courtyard, EMS space

Media Studies
Cultural Studies
Fashion Industry
Art & Artists

GROUND FLOOR

Welcome desk, self-service machines, laptop loans, reservations

Shelf numbers for fashion

Principal numbers
 
  • 338.47687 Fashion business
  • 391 Costume
  • 646.3 Clothing construction
  • 687.0688 Fashion marketing
  • 746.92 Fashion design
 
Specific sections
 
FIRST FLOOR SECOND FLOOR
338.47687 Fashion business
 
355.14 Military uniform
 
391 Costume & personal appearance (clothing)
391.1 Costumes of men
391.2  Costumes of women
391.412 Gloves and mittens
391.413 Footwear
391.42  Underwear and nightclothes
391.43  Headwear
391.45  Buttons
391.65  Tatoos and scarification
391.7  Jewelry
 
646.3 Clothing construction
646.402 Men's clothing
646.404 Women's clothing
646.5  Headgear construction
 
687.0688 Fashion marketing
741.672 Fashion illustration
 
746.92  Fashion design
746.92092 Fashion designers
 
778.9391 Fashion photography (see also779.974692)
 
792.026 Stage costuming