LibGuides: Image / Moving Image Sources: Fashion

Subscription services

Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive This link opens in a new window
In partnership with YOOX-NET-A-PORTER, Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive exhibits almost 3,000 fashion shows presented in Paris, London, New York, and Milan by 460 international designers, and covers the period 1979 to 2003. Each video features extensive indexing and captioning to enable search, browse, and enhanced discoverability.
Fashion Photography Archive This link opens in a new window
Curated by Editor-in-Chief Valerie Steele, Director of the Museum at FIT in New York, this resource showcases more than 775,000 newly-digitized and high-quality images that feature forty years of contemporary fashion history along with a timeline, lesson plans, and videos to create a rich educational resource.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
WGSN This link opens in a new window
Research, trend analysis and news for the fashion and style industries.

Subscription media sources

Alexander Street Press Videos This link opens in a new window
Access to 4 video collections from Alexander Street Press: Filmakers Library Online, Teachers TV from Education in Video, World History in Video & World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966
Artfilms (now Bloomsbury Video Library) This link opens in a new window
Artfilms streams 1000s of videos supporting the arts curriculum with content from top artists and producers specifically related to the creative arts. Masterclasses, documentaries, interviews: Content to entertain, educate and inform.
BoB: Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
On demand TV and radio for education, with an archive of over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts. Accessible in the UK only

How to use BoB [videos]
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
30,000+ educational documentaries and classic films from leading producers. A wide range of subject coverage (e.g. Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Health and Sciences) You can watch anytime, anywhere and on any device including via media streaming apps.

Alexander Street Press, Kanopy, Artfilms and Box of Broadcasts all have a great deal of fashion-related content. Kanopy has a fashion section, with over 300 fashion videos, Artfilms has a Design/Fashion section, which includes Masters of Fashion, a multi-part series on fashion designers. Box of Broadcasts has films and programmes covering a whole range of subjects that can be used for inspiration. Take a look at the public playlists on fashion for an idea of what is available. And Alexander Street Press has over 2000 fashion-related videos from the 1970s up to more recent times, including for example The Year in Fashion 1985-2014.

Key open access sources

Fashion and Race database
Europeana Fashion Portal
Fashion History Timeline - free database for fashion history, with a useful 'how to research fashion' section
Fashion Museum Bath
Includes Fashion from the 1970s and 1980s and Dress of the Year.
S earch images from FMB on Bridgeman Images, a commercial image database
Fashion Museum at FIT
Search or browse collections by decade. See also FIT Image Database and the FIT section of Google Arts & Culture
First View - searchable fashion database and photo archive
Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute
Museum of Youth Culture Archives
New York Public Library Fashion collections
Show Studio - fashion website, founded and directed by fashion photographer Nick Knight (also see their YouTube account)
V&A Images (Fashion) - shows images from the V&A Museum Fashion Collection. Search or browse the collection, including fashion by period
VADS
Vogue by the decade [YouTube]
We Wear Culture: the stories behind what we wear - Google project with lots to explore, including fashion by the decade, and an overview of 20th century fashion and 21st century designer fashion
Westminster Menswear Archive

Other open access sources

100 years of dresses | Glamour - YouTube
100 years of fashion | Museum at FIT - YouTube
British Library - Fashion & Costume selection (Flickr)
The Cut (runway images)
Fashion and Race database
Getty (runway images)
Life Photo Archive
Milan Fashion Week
The Sartorialist
UK Fashion Network
V&A Fashion in motion
V&A Textiles Collection
V&A YouTube - Fashion
Vimeo - Fashion videos
VMSD - Virtual Merchandising and Store Design
Vogue by the decade
Vogue | YouTube
Westminster Fashion
WWD (runway images)

Library Guides

Image / Moving Image Sources: Fashion

Introduction

Subscription services

Subscription media sources

Key open access sources

Other open access sources

CONNECT WITH US