Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Open Access Resources: Images & film

Find Open Access Films

On BFI i Player you can find free shorts and features, showing the best from the BFI, national and regional archives - including 120 years of Britain on film

Publicdomainmovies.net provides links to the content hosted by the Internet Archive  and the Wikimedia Foundation .

Browse for feature films, comedy, drama and romance, science fiction and horror and cartoons.

reel to reel film

Film collections by genres

Art History Images

Copyright free image searches

Google Images

Search for an image in Google images, then use the Tools button to select an appropriate licence with the usage rights filter.Tin  Eye reverse image search will help you check that the image is genuinely free to use.

Creative Commons Search

Find content you can share, use and remix, Always check terms of use.

Xpert Attribution Tool

​Find images that are stored in Flickr that are either in the public domain or licenced with a creative commons licence         

Copyright free, non-subscription image resources

ARKive: Images of Life on Earth

A record of the world’s biodiversity in films, photographs and audio recordings of the world’s species

Flickr Creative Commons

Online photo management and sharing application. See Flickr’s community guidelines

Flickr University of Westminster Archives

The University Archive collects and contains the surviving records of the corporate memory and history of the University. ​These images are copyright protected. Contact the archive if you would like to use the images in your teaching materials. Images are now being added to the Archive catalogue

Image*After

Download and use in your own work, either personal or commercial.You can modify, redistribute or sell images and textures in any way altered or unaltered. Use as part of printed work (e.g. posters, cd-covers, postcards etc).

Imperial War Museum Collection

War and conflict from the First World War to the present day.See Copyright and Re-use​

MorgueFile

Free high resolution digital photographs and reference images, for corporate or public use

Unsplash

Beautiful high resolution photographs free to use under the Unsplash licence

 

Exhibitions and Theatre

The Guardian has published this list of online exhibitions and plays, there will be others

Virtual tour of ‘Léon Spilliaert' (at The Royal Academy)

Cyprus Avenue (play at The Royal Court) - available until 26th April

The Van Gogh Museum - has various 'at home' resources

Royal Opera House - is making performances available online

The Metropolitan Opera - nightly operas from New York

National Theatre at Home - Free full length plays every Thursday at 7pm 

Further help