LibGuides: Open Access Resources: Journals

Find Open Access Academic Journal Articles

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 2,800 free e-journals covering all subjects.
CORE This link opens in a new window
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) offers seamless access to millions of open access research papers by aggregating all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide.

Jstor
In addition to open access articles, you can register at https://support.jstor.org/hc/en-us/articles/115004760028-MyJSTOR-How-to-Register-Get-Free-Access-to-Content and read up to 100 free articles a month

OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window
OpenDOAR is a directory of academic open access repositories relevant to research.

Crossref
Crossref is a multidisciplinary scholarly communication resource. It aims to make research outputs easy to find, cite, link, and assess, as an official Digital Object Identifier Registration Agency of the International DOI Foundation
Digital Commons Nerwork
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a fast and simple way to search for scholarly literature, including journal articles, books and theses.

You will need to set up the Library Link (Menu > Settings > Library links) in order to do that.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Nearly 90% of all scientific articles published in English can be found through Google Scholar. It covers every discipline; though some disciplines such as humanities are underrepresented . Google Scholar links to major publishers and repositories. Nevertheless, some webpages are not indexed.
Its ranking system focuses more on quantity- i.e. on a citation count and the number of papers an author published. Its citation count is also susceptible to manipulation. Spammers can increase the number of citation a paper can get. There are journals that Google Scholar search engine cannot access. There are instances when it indexes predatory journals. This emanates from its approach to index as many journals as possible. This undermines its quality. Filtering options in Google Scholar are limited, so it is not easy to search within a discipline or a journal article

When you are working off-campus, you need to set up the Library Link (Menu > Settings > Library links) to see links to full-text items.

There's more information on how to use Google Scholar on our guide.

Find Open Access Resources in Library Search

You can use Library Search to find open access collections that have been added to the library catalgoue.

Choose and apply the 'Open Access' filter on the left after you have run a search, to find content that is freely accessible.

Library Search

Unpaywall plugin

Add the Unpaywall app to Chrome. Search for content that you can use legally. Sources include repositories run by universities, governments, and scholarly societies, as well as open content hosted by publishers.

Subject Specific Open Access Journal Collections

arXiv
Open access archive for Computer Science hosted by Cornell University.
Oalibrary
The Open Access Library offers free scientific publications with the aim of connecting science with society.

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of over 200 freely available biomedical and life sciences journals.

Thinker's Hub
Open Access Science Journals encouraging citizen engagement in research and development activities. A member of Crossref
Open Library of Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is an academic-led, diamond open-access publisher of 28 journals based at Birkbeck, University of London.

Library Guides

Open Access Resources: Journals

Find Open Access Academic Journal Articles

Google Scholar

Find Open Access Resources in Library Search

Unpaywall plugin

Subject Specific Open Access Journal Collections

CONNECT WITH US