Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Academic Monographs
DOAB Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a discovery service that points to Open Access books. Search the description of books and download books from the site of the publisher. All books in DOAB have a full OA license, making them 'free to share'. All publishers in DOAB are screened for their peer review procedures and licensing policies.
Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters
Contains a growing assortment of rich historical multimedia content as well as high quality Open Access content and Open Educational Resources. Featuring interesting digital exhibits and collections from a wide range of partners
A partnership of academic and research libraries offering millions of digitised titles from across the world
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences
The publishers of large format visual arts books such as exhibition catalogues do not supply ebooks to libraries, so are unlikely to be able to join in with these initiatives. This includes even relatively large publishers in that area such as Phaidon, Taschen and Thames & Hudson.
Individual publishers might have relevant initiatives.
Individual artists/writers may have material on their own websites. For example:
Some museums have made selected catalogues available. For example:
The Internet Archive and related Open Library can be good for older material for arts subjects. Some examples include:
Google Books has extensive previews of some texts submitted by publishers to promote their content, including recent texts. For example:
Project Gutenberg is strictly limited to out of copyright books. Examples include:
There are a few interesting commercial initiatives currently available. For example:
- Kindle - free extracts of most of academic books available on Kindle (you can read them on the Kindle app, even if you don't have a Kindle device)
- Verso (independent "radical" publisher) - 80% off Verso e-books here (until the end of March)
- Perlego - 14 day free trial period
Access a large selection of ebooks for £12 per month.
- Google Play - free extracts, purchase or rental of books
- Apple books - free extracts or purchase
- 1854 Digital (The British Journal of Photography) - Access membership benefits including back-copies of BJP for the next three months for £1. Use the code TOGETHER during checkout. You can use the discount on any digital membership option; if you choose quarterly Digital Access, you will get all the benefits for £1.
Find Open Textbooks
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education at the University of Minnesota and the Open Textbook Network which promotes access, affordability, and student success through the use of open textbooks.
Approximately 200 open text books from the arts and humanities, business , computing, science and engineering areas.
Maths, Science, Humanities
Open Access monographs published by University Presses are often searchable in the DOAB directory and in JSTOR Open. It may also be worth browsing the individual catalogues of the presses. A few suggestions are listed below.
Jisc open access text books