Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Guide to Library and Archive Services During COVID-19: Borrowing books

Click and collect

Book collection service

Our library spaces are currently closed due to COVID-19 but the services you can expect from us remain largely unchanged. Your reading list will contain online material and we are constantly adding new resources to our online collection but we know many of our users need to access physical resources. We’re therefore offering a Click and Collect service to enable you to access texts that aren’t available electronically.

If you are registered with Disability Learning Support, have eligibility for extended loans and are unable to come on site please see our information for extended loan and disabled users


How it works

Once you’ve located the items you need via Library search, just reserve them via the ‘request’ button and select your preferred pick up location. For the moment we can only arrange collection from our libraries at Cavendish, Harrow and Marylebone but you can request books from any site (up to a maximum of five items). 

We’ll email you when the books are ready for collection. This may take up to a week. You can then choose your collection slot via the link in the email.  Please note that you can only book one collection slot per week across both sites. This is due to the limited number of slots available.  

On visiting the library you’ll find the books on the reservation shelves under your surname. The reservation shelves are located behind the self-service machines on the ground floor at both Harrow and Marylebone libraries.  You can borrow the books on our self-service machines using your student ID card.

Plastic bags are available if needed and you are also welcome to help yourself to a free hand sanitiser. Additional cleaning materials are available for you to disinfect the self-service machine before and after use.

If you have any problems at any point during the process just contact us via our live Chat service.

 

Things to note

We have extended the number items you can borrow from 25 to 40. Please be aware that we aren't currently accepting returns so once you have reached the item limit it won't be possible to borrow more books. Please take care in choosing texts to ensure they meet your research needs. 

This service is only available for books which aren’t available online. We understand that some users prefer to read the print copy of books but it’s vital that we prioritise the wellbeing of students and staff and minimise the number of people coming onsite wherever possible. For this reason we aren’t currently accepting returns and are preventing anyone from reserving books that are checked out to another user.

You will need a copy of your confirmation email to show to security on arrival (you can display it on your phone) and you must wear a face covering when in the building. Once items have been collected we ask that you leave the building immediately.

You will have a one hour slot to collect your item, if you do not arrive within that time you will need to book another slot. Please follow the link on your reservation email to do this.

It is not necessary to reserve a slot to collect your items if you have booked a space to study in the library. You can just collect your books at the same time. 

Please note that whilst we strive to offer the highest standard of service at all times the unpredictable and evolving nature of the global situation means that this service is subject to change and withdrawal at short notice.


Questions? Get in touch via our Chat service or email ask-a-librarian@westminster.ac.uk

Click and Collect

bookshelf and girl

Which other libraries can I use?

SCONUL ACCESS LOGO

In line with Government guidelines, and following the closure of library buildings, the SCONUL Access scheme will be suspended until further notice

No new applications can be made during this period

British Library

To use the British Library reading rooms, you will need to already have a Reader Pass with an expiry date of or after 18 March 2020.

Further information on using the British Library reading rooms

Your top tips for Click and Collect

  • You can request 5 books at a time
  • You can have 40 books out on loan
  • You can click and collect your requested books at Cavendish, Harrow and Marylebone libraries 
  • Please wear a face covering in the buildings
  • You borrow books using the self-service kiosk
  • You need your university ID to borrow books
  • It is not currently possible to return books 
  • You do not need to reserve a collection slot if you've booked a space to study. You can collect your books on your way to your study space.

Inter Library Loans

We will be unable to supply any new ILL requests for printed material for the foreseeable future.

However, please continue to place requests for books, as we may be able to supply them electronically. We can still provide digital copies of journal articles and chapters of books (subject to copyright restrictions) where possible.

If anyone has any questions regarding their ILL requests please contact us at

interlibraryloans@westminster.ac.uk.