Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Guide to Library and Archive Services: Archive

University of Westminster Archive

Items from the University of Westminster Archive are available to view by appointment. Please email archive@westminster.ac.uk to arrange an appointment.

As well as answering enquiries about our own collections, we are also happy to provide staff and students with guidance and advice about researching in archives elsewhere, including information on which collections are open for research, and online resources. You can find out more information about using digital archives for research in this online guide

Our Catalogue

Information about our collections can be found on our online catalogue https://westminster-atom.arkivum.net/. This includes descriptions of material held by the University Archive, and digital surrogates for any material that has already been digitised. We are regularly adding more, so please check back regularly, or contact us if there is something specific that you are looking for. 

Polytechnic Touring Association

The majority of the Polytechnic Touring Association archive was digitised as part of Adam Matthews ‘Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture’ resource, and is available online at http://www.masstourism.amdigital.co.uk/. Staff and students of the University can access this resource by clicking any link on the homepage, which will take you through to the login screen. Then choose ‘The UK Access Management Federation’ login option.

Polytechnic Magazines

A separate website exists for the Polytechnic Magazines, which have been digitised in their entirety from 1879 to 1960. https://polymags.westminster.ac.uk/ The Polytechnic Magazines give extensive details of the institution’s activities during this period and are an excellent resource for researching the Polytechnic’s educational, sporting and social activities.

Westminster Menswear Archive

The Westminster Menswear Archive is open to staff and students by appointment

Information about the Westminster Menswear Archive’s collection is available on our online catalogue at https://westminster-atom.arkivum.net/. This includes descriptions of garments held by the University, and in many cases also photographs. More descriptions and photographs are added regularly but contact us if there is something specific that your are looking for.

The Westminster Menswear Archive staff can be contacted at mensweararchive@westminster.ac.uk