Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tip: when searching for articles on Library Search, click 'Expand my results' on the left hand side of the results page to include results beyond our collection. If you see an article you want to read but we don't have access to it, click on it and it will load the interlibrary loan form. Put in an ILL request and we will attempt to get the article for you.
Tip: do forward citation tracking using Google Scholar or Web of Science on journal articles you are interested in. In doing so, you will (i) identify more recently published research on the topic, and (ii) be able to see in what context the original article was cited. Not all citations are endorsements!
Tip: use Altmetric Bookmarklet on articles with a DOI to see their Altmetric data. (Altmetrics - alternative metrics - are complementary to traditional citation-based metrics and measure the attention an article receives online e.g. on social media, in policy documents and in mainstream media coverage. Learn more about Altmetrics on altmetric.com).
Google Scholar Guide
Google Scholar is a search engine for scholarly information. This Guide will give you the pros and cons of using it, as well as instructions on how to link it to our library catalogue and how to save references.
Searching native interfaces of databases
Open Access Research
Unrestricted online access to open research outputs
Literature Searching training session
British Library and other libraries
The BL is currently allowing visits to its Reading Rooms only for those holding a Reader Pass with an expiry date of or after 18 March 2020. Because of limited capacity, they will just be renewing expired passes and will not be able to issue new Reader Passes for the time being.
Jisc Library Hub Discover
Use Library Hub Discover to search a database of 169 UK and Irish academic, national and specialist library catalogues.
SCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to use study spaces or books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. Some library users may be able to borrow print books from other libraries too.
Due to the pandemic, the scheme is currently suspended.
Finding unpublished material
This guide by University of Wolverhampton Library has an extensive list of resources to use when searching for grey literature.
Search for theses:
EThOS contains over 500,000 doctoral theses that you can either download instantly or order a scanned copy of.
Use Library Search filters: Resources Type > Thesis
Search for conference outputs:
Use Library Search filters: Resources Type > Conference Paper; Conference Poster
Use Zetoc: Search > Conference Search
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Intervention
The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions. All authors should consult the Handbook for guidance on the methods used in Cochrane systematic reviews. The Handbook includes guidance on the standard methods applicable to every review (planning a review, searching and selecting studies, data collection, risk of bias assessment, statistical analysis, GRADE and interpreting results)
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by
Publication Date: 2017-05-05
Focused on actively using systematic review as method, An Introduction to Systematic Reviews;provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this practical text carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism.