Skip to Main Content

Library Guides

History: Databases

Finding databases

Our databases cover a wide range of material, including e-journals and e-books, multimedia resources, and dictionaries. A complete list of our databases can be found in the E-resources A-Z.

Key databases for History are listed below:

 

ACLS Humanities E-Books

This is a digital collection of research monographs from a range of academic publishers that will be particularly relevant to history. The full-text of the e-books is searchable by keyword.

Box of Broadcasts

A television and radio recording and archive service.

British Humanities Index

An index of over 300 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality UK newspapers.

Cambridge Companions Online

The complete collection of the Cambridge Companions series.

Credo Reference

Over 500 online reference books, dictionaries and encyclopedias, useful for background research.

JSTOR

Very useful, mainly full-text archive of leading humanities and social science academic journals; usually does not include issues published in the last few years.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Contains biographies of 60,061 men and women who died in or before the year 2012—plus 536 ‘Theme’ articles for reference and research.

Project Muse

High quality humanities and social science journals.

Web of Science

An integrated database of journal articles including the Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities Indexes.

 

You should be able to access most resources outside the University with your username and password.

Contact the Library or Ask a Librarian service if you have any problems.