The library subscribes to multiple collections of historical newspapers. You can find these collections via Library Search.
Lexis Library: News Search
Search the full-text of UK newspapers from mid-1980s to the present (check individual titles to find the date range). You can search for words anywhere in the article, in the headline, at the start of the article or where there have been three or more mentions of the word.
Artemis Primary Sources - Search across four newspaper archives
Run a search across four digital newspaper archives: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century UK Periodicals, British Library 19th century Newspapers, Times Digital Archive. These can also be searched individually - see descriptions below.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
19th Century UK Periodicals
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the British Empire and the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
British Library Newspapers contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society.
The Times Digital Archive
Search over 7.5 million articles from The Times newspaper, from 1785-2006. You can search the full text of the entire paper, including articles, editorials and advertising.