Skip to Main Content

Library Guides

English, Linguistics and Cultural Studies: Theatre Studies

Discover the books, journals and other resources that you will need for your studies

Start with Library Search

Library Search is the main way to search for resources provided by the University of Westminster.

Use the search box below to look up print and electronic resources in Library Search, or go directly to the Library Search homepage.

Books

Books relevant to Theatre Studies are mainly located on Floor B4 of Regent Library.

Some examples of shelf numbers for books relevant to Theatre Studies
Subject Shelf number Location
American drama 812 B4
English drama 822 B4
Shakespeare 822.33 B4

For locations of other shelf numbers please use Library Search, where you will also find e-books that can be read online.

Journals

Print journals and magazines are arranged alphabetically by title on Floor B4 of the library. There are also many journals available electronically via Library Search.

Some examples of e-journal titles relevant to Theatre Studies are:

  • Studies in Theatre and Performance
  • Theatre Journal
  • Theatre Notebook

To find a journal or magazine title, use the "Books, journals & more" option in Library Search. You may find it helpful to refine your search by Resource Type: Journals.

To find journal articles on a particular topic, use the "Articles & more" option in Library Search.

Databases

Our databases cover a wide range of material, including e-journals and e-books, multimedia resources, and dictionaries. A complete list of our databases can be found in the E-resources A-Z.

Key databases for Theatre Studies are listed below:

  • Box of Broadcasts: A television and radio recording and archive service. Includes some foreign language channels.
  • British Humanities Index: An index of over 300 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality UK newspapers.
  • Cambridge Companions Online: The complete collection of the Cambridge Companions series, which includes a sub-collection for Literature and Classics.
  • Credo Reference: Over 500 online reference books, dictionaries and encyclopedias including bilingual dictionaries, useful for background research.
  • Factiva: A searchable database of newspapers, publications and business information from around the world.
  • JSTOR: Very useful, mainly full-text archive of leading humanities and social science academic journals; usually does not include issues published in the last few years.
  • Literature Online (LION): A literature and criticism database that includes full-text works.
  • MLA International Bibliography: An index which is very useful for modern languages, literature and linguistics.
  • Project Muse: High quality humanities and social science journals.
  • Web of Science: An integrated database of journal articles including the Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities Indexes.

You should be able to access most resources outside the University with your username and password. Contact the Library or Ask a Librarian service if you have any problems.

Multimedia

A collection of films on DVD is available on Floor B4 of Regent Library.

Dictionaries

Reference only printed dictionaries are available on Floor B4 of the library.

A number of electronic dictionaries are available via the "Books, journals & more" option in Library Search. The library also subscribes to the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) online.

Was everything okay?

Any comments regarding the use of this guide? Please let us know.