English, Linguistics and Cultural Studies: English

Books relevant to English are located in various sections of Cavendish library, depending on your subject area.

For locations of other shelf numbers please use Library Search, where you will also find e-books that can be read online.

Print journals and magazines are arranged alphabetically by title on the fifth floor of the library. However, the majority of our journal collection is available online via Library Search.

Some examples of e-journal titles relevant to English are:

• Shakespeare Quarterly
• Contemporary Literature
• Journal of Linguistics
• TESOL Quarterly

To find a journal or magazine title, use the "Books, journals & more" option in Library Search. You may find it helpful to use the "Filter my results" menu to refine your search by Resource Type → Journals.

To find journal articles on a particular topic, use the "Articles & more" option in Library Search.

Our databases cover a wide range of material, including e-journals and e-books, multimedia resources, and dictionaries. A complete list of our databases can be found in the E-resources A-Z.

Key databases for English are listed below:

• Box of Broadcasts: A television and radio recording and archive service. Includes some foreign language channels.
• British Humanities Index: An index of over 300 humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality UK newspapers.
• Cambridge Companions Online: The complete collection of the Cambridge Companions series, which includes a sub-collection for Literature and Classics.
• Credo Reference: Over 500 online reference books, dictionaries and encyclopedias including bilingual dictionaries, useful for background research.
• Drama Online: A multimedia database featuring over 2,600 playtexts from 1,000 playwrights, 400 audio plays, 325 hours of video, and 370 scholarly books.
• Factiva: A searchable database of newspapers, publications and business information from around the world.
• JSTOR: Very useful, mainly full-text archive of leading humanities and social science academic journals; usually does not include issues published in the last few years.
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: Abstracts and indexes literature in the field of languages and linguistics.
• Literature Online (LION): A literature and criticism database that includes full-text works.
• MLA International Bibliography: An index which is very useful for modern languages, literature and linguistics.
• Project Muse: High quality humanities and social science journals.
• Web of Science: An integrated database of journal articles including the Social Sciences and Arts and Humanities Indexes.

You should be able to access most resources outside the University with your username and password. Contact the Student Centre if you have any problems.

A collection of films on DVD is available on the fifth floor of Cavendish Library. Resources such as CDs are shelved within the book collection and can be found using the "Filter my results" menu in Library Search and refining your search by Resource Type → Audio.

For online films, videos and documentaries, use Library Search to refine your results by Resource Type → Videos or see the E-resources A-Z for a list of all our multimedia databases.

Tip: films in the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) database are not indexed in Library Search, so search within BoB itself to find what you need.

Both print and electronic dictionaries can be found using the "Books, journals & more" search option in Library Search. The library also subscribes to the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) online.