Skip to main content

Library Guides

School of Arts Library guide: Home

Fashion Design, Fashion management, Photography, Film, Music, Contemporary Media Practice & Mixed Media Fine Art

About this guide

This guide is designed to help you learn about the full-range of resources that are available to you.  You can take a tour by clicking on the tabs above, and reading the introductory sentence of each page.  There is an additional guide for fashion courses.

This guide along with the School of Arts Research and Referencing guide covers a lot of ground, providing information for some very different audiences.  It includes an introduction to the library (see Library Essentials below) but goes way beyond this.  You will need to select the parts that are relevant to you for your current needs, whatever they may be.

I am always happy to receive feedback about the services provided - good and bad - so please get in touch.

School of Arts Librarian

James Thickins's picture
James Thickins
Contact:
I'm here to help - online appointments are normally available. Email me if there are no appointments available.

Library essentials

This section covers the essentials - it is all you need to get started.

Library Search

Library Search lists all books and DVDs available across all four sites as well as all ebooks and online journal and magazine articles.  You can also review your loans, and request items not available online from any site to be held for you using Library Search.  There is a search box embedded below.

Quick tips

1. Sign-in for the best experience

2. Select 'Books, journals & more' if you are looking for books, otherwise what you want may be lost among the journal articles

3. Remember the easy url: www.westminster.ac.uk/librarysearch

See: Search our collections for more information.


Reading lists

Most modules have online reading lists which link to essential reading for the module, and provide suggestions for further reading.  These are a useful starting point for researching assignments.  Some students ignore the reading list entirely and miss important sources that would help them tackle the assignment.  My advice is - read some of the books and articles recommended by your lecturers.  There is a search box embedded below.

Search for reading lists by module code or name


Ebooks and Ejournals

Ebooks are listed on Library Search alongside the print collection.  We source ebooks from a number of suppliers, and they are all hosted externally, which means that you will come across a variety of platforms and ebook models.  Some you can download, some you can't; some have limitations on printing, etc.

On Library Search you will also come across journal articles - there are far more of these than books, so if you are looking for books you should limit your search to books.

Other online sources

The library subscribes to a wide range electronic sources some of which are related to books or journals, and some of which provide access to other sources of information.  These are highlighted throughout this guide.  You might want to start using LinkedIn Learning and Box of Broadcasts straight away. 

Most of the content of most databases is listed on Library Search, but sometimes it is preferable to search the 'native' interface.  This gives you access to additional content, plus advanced search options.  Note that the contents of Box of Broadcasts is not listed on Library Search.

Help with logging in

You don't need to sign-in to most online resources on campus, but if if accessing off campus, you should look for a sign-in option such as ‘Where are you from’ or ‘Shibboleth’. Some resources (e.g. Box of Broadcasts) require registration, or offer additional functionality if you register.  More advice about logging in to online resources is available.


Borrowing books and DVDs

Our library spaces are currently closed due to COVID-19.  However, we have a 'click and collect' service for books and DVDs that are not available electronically and a postal service for students registered with Disability Learning Support.   You need to use Library Search to request items through click and collect.

You can borrow up to forty items, and can request up to five items at a time to be collected at either Harrow or Marylebone Road.  Note that it is not currently possible to return books and requests are limited to items not available online.  Requests for books that are available online are being cancelled.

After you have made a request, we will contact you once they are ready for collection.  This may take up to a week.


Joining the library

Registration with the library happens automatically within 24 hours of enrolment.  Your university ID card will work on the self-service machines in the library.  Follow the on-screen instructions carefully.  Sign in to Library Search to request items for collection.


Access to study space

If you can’t study effectively from home, you can book a seat in one of our socially distanced study spaces.


Printing

Your ID card works with the printers/photocopiers.  Use the Print Portal to add credit, and to use WebPrint (equivalent to wireless printing).  Note: within the first four weeks of each academic year, you will be credited with £15 print credit (£7.50 for part-time students).


Free software / IT discounts

Free access to Office 365, plus other deals on software/hardware can be found on the Managing your money section of the student hub.


Library and Academic skills training

The School of Arts Library Guide and the Fashion Library Guide are both packed with information about accessing resources.  They are supplemented by the School of Arts Research and Referencing Guide which gives help with basic searching, advanced searching, referencing, using other libraries, and study skills. 

You can also book an appointment with the School of Arts librarian for additional help with research and there is a chat service called Ask Us for basic help with accessing resources.

There are also a range of workshops, one-to-one support, and resources on study skills more generally - details on the Academic Skills Library Guide


Disability Services

There is a postal service for book loans for students registered with Disability Learning Support.