Skip to main content

Library Guides

Architecture and Cities: Web Resources

This guide covers the courses delivered within the Architecture + Cities School

Web connections

The web resources collected on this page may be of interest to those studying architecture, urban and regional planning and urban design. They supplement those held within Library Search. They are listed in alphabetical order, not in order of importance.

Visuals

Beck Road Open House 2019

Beck Road Open House

The Reverse of a Framed Painting by Cornelis Norbertus Gysbrechts, 1668-1672.

Maisons Duc in Valais. Photograph by Severine Rouiller.

Basquiat housing

Basquiat housing

Web Resources

archiDATUM: Architecture in Africa

archiDATUM aims at partnering with all the stakeholders in the building industry towards a common goal of objectively informing the public and the world at large about architecture in Africa. archiDATUM is a registered company under the laws of Kenya.

Archinet

Archinect is a (mostly) online publication/resource founded in 1997 to establish a more connected community of architects, students, designers and fans of the designed environment. Its aim is to make architecture more connected and open-minded, and bring together designers from around the world to introduce new ideas from all disciplines.

Architecture Foundation

The Architecture Foundation brings together professionals from across the built environment to discuss and act on issues related to design and the built environment.With an emphasis on the city and the critical intersection of architecture and politics, the Architecture Foundation works to effect meaningful change in policy and practice.

Architecture Foundation Newsletter

Updates on the latest events hosted by the Architecture Foundation.

ARCLIB

The ARCLIB website has links to online resources and lists of refereed journals. ARCLIB is an independent co-operative group which aims to promote the sharing of good practiceand co-operation amongst librarians involved with architecture, planning and other related built environment disciplines. 

CityLab 

Through sharp analysis, original reporting, and visual storytelling, CityLab focuses on the biggest ideas and most pressing issues facing the world’s metropolitan areas and neighborhoods. Originally called The Atlantic Cities, launched in September 2011, CityLab rebranded in May 2014 with a new site and an expanded editorial mission. The current version of the site, launched in June 2017, highlights five areas of urban coverage: design, transportation, environment, equity, and life. It also has a new Solutions hub which collects the best ideas and stories for an urbanizing world.

dezeen (magazine)

dezeen, by its own account, is the world's most popular and influential architecture and design magazine. Its mission is to present a carefully edited selection of the best architecture, design and interiors projects and news from around the world. dezeen was launched in November 2006.

Failed Architecture

Failed Architecture seeks to open up new perspectives on the built environment, by exploring the meaning of architecture in contemporary society. Since 2011, Failed Architecture has been providing an inclusive platform for critical urban discourse. Architecture continues to fail, the website argues, because the global economic system "puts profit above everything else, reproducing social and political conditions that undermine people’s control over their built environment. Meanwhile, architectural media reduce the design of society to a spectacular image. As a result, the public is left with a shallow understanding of what architecture is and what it can be."

Google Arts & Culture

An online platform showing high-resolution images and videos of artworks and cultural artifacts from over 2000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute

HAL archives-ouvertes

HAL is an open archive where authors can deposit scholarly documents from all academic fields.

Internet Archive and National Emergency Library

The Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. To address the unprecedented global and immediate need for access to reading and research materials during the coronavirus pandemic, as of 24 March 2020 the Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in its lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run until 30 June 30 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later.

JURN

JURN is a database giving access to millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses. Established in 2009 to comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, JURN expanded in scope in 2014. JURN now also covers selected university full-text repositories and many additional e-journals in science, biomedical, business and law. In 2015-2016, JURN expanded again, adding over 600 e-journals on aspects of the natural world.

Online journals

Architonic

Cloud-Cuckoo-Land for architectural theory

performingborders

performingborders is a curatorial research platform that explores the relations between Live Art and lived experiences of cultural, juridical, racial, gendered, class, physical, and everyday borders. It was initiated by curator, creative producer, and researcher Alessandra Cianetti in 2016. It is disseminated as a conversation-based, research blog hosting interviews and guest posts and series of related events and artist commissions which interrogate the practices of international performers that are responding to challenging notions of contemporary borders.

Theatrum Mundi

Theatrum Mundi is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation which was founded at LSE Cities in 2012. It aims to improve the understanding of cities through education and research. It contends that collaboration with artists can offer city-makers, including architects, planners, engineers, and urbanists, critical approaches to the way their crafts shape the public life of cities. Theatrum Mundi is concerned with the ways the public lives of cities, in all their forms, are understood and designed and aims to enrich these by engaging urbanists in co-production of knowledge, culture, and design, with artists, writers, performers, and scholars.

Scout Report

The Scout Report is the flagship publication of the Internet Scout Research Group. Published every Friday both on the Web and by email subscription, it provides a fast, convenient way to stay informed of valuable STEM and humanities resources on the Internet. Published continuously since 1994, the Scout Report is one of the Internet's oldest and most respected publications.

Sonic Urbanism

The background to this publication is a 2018 colloquium called 'In Crafting a Sonic Urbanism', which asked how the practice of urbanism could look beyond the soundscape as an object and build sonic concerns, methods and modes of thinking into its ways of working. A sonic urbanism would be one that uses listening, scoring and performing as tools for design processes, one that relies on cross-disciplinary collaborations and challenges the visually-biased epistemologies that fundamental assumptions about urban design have been based upon.

UCL Press Urban Studies

Open access book titles in urban studies, including their FRINGE series

urbanNext [expanding architecture to rethink cities]

urbanNext’s main goal is to generate a global network to produce content focused on rethinking architecture through the contemporary urban milieu —urbanity that is conditioned by the specificities of the information society, sustainable awareness, globalized knowledge and leisure.

 

Presentations

Introduction to NVivo

Research and Resources