Skip to main content

Library Guides

Architecture and Cities: Home

This guide covers the courses delivered within the Architecture + Cities School

Coronavirus Notification

During the period when the library has moved to online provision in response to the coronavirus pandemic, from 23 March 2020 until further notice, I will be available for one-to-one online consultations via Blackboard Collaborate, Zoom or Skype. To arrange a day and a time, you can either contact me initially via email, through the link below, or book one of the slots in Engage, again using the link below. I will then send you the information you need to connect via Collaborate, Zoom or Skype at the appointed time. Allan Parsons

The University of Westminster now subscribes to the online version of Detail : Zeitschrift für Architektur + Baudetail : review of architecture : revue d'architecture. It is listed in the E-Resources A-Z under DETAIL Inspiration 

There are also open access books on urban studies available from the UCL Press

Allan Parsons

Allan Parsons's picture
Allan Parsons
Contact:
Marylebone Library, Room L193
020 3506 7923

Marylebone Library

Study spaces and print resources for architecture and interiors; planning, housing and urban design; tourism and events; and transport and logistics can be found on floors 2 and 3 of the Marylebone Road Library. The opening hours for the Marylebone Library can be found on this page 

To find the list of electronic databases to which the University of Westminster subscribes, click on the 'E-Resources A-Z' tab in the top menu bar of Library Search. More in-depth descriptions of the most relevant databases for architecture, housing, tourism, events, urban development, urban design and urban planning can be found on the Electronic Resources box in this guide. Electronic journals can also be browsed using the 'Browse e-Journals' tab in the top menu bar of Library Search

Searching for both electronic books and print books is conducted through Library Search. The electronic books can be downloaded or read online, while the print book stock is organised using Dewey numbers. The sequence begins on floor 2, and runs from 000 to 999.

The main DDC classes are as follows:

000 Computer science, information and general works
100 Philosophy and psychology
200 Religion
300 Social sciences
400 Language
500 Science
600 Technology
700 Arts and recreation
800 Literature
900 History and geography

The most relevant Dewey numbers on floor 2 for courses in the Architecture + Cities School are: 

307 Urban and regional planning

333 Real estate management

338.4791 Tourism

363.5 Housing

394.2068 Events management

340 Law

385 - 387 Freight and Logistics

387.7 Air transport

388 Transport management

647.94 Hospitality

658.5 - 7 Logistics - Supply chain management

690 Construction of buildings

691 Building materials

On floor 3, the most relevant Dewey numbers are:

710 Planning and Landscape Architecture

711 Planning and urban design

711.7 Transport design

720 Architecture theory and practice

720.92 Individual architects

721 Architectural structure, materials

728 Residential and related buildings

729 Design and decoration

910 Geography and travel

On floor 3, you can also find:

Architectural journals

Zines collection

Architecture and Cities

The materials in this guide are intended to support courses in the following subject areas:

Architecture and Interiors

Planning, Housing and Urban Design

Tourism and Events

Transport and Logistics

More resources can be found on the following web page: Oui!Learn Cities (+ Architecture)

LibrarySearch

Library Search

Library Search is the portal for all of the University of Westminster's information resources, from printed books and journals to electronic books, journals and databases, in all four of the University's libraries.

To find books and journal titles, simply type in your chosen keywords in the 'Start your search' box and select the 'Books, journals and more option' from the drop-down menu that appears

To find journal articles, again type in your chosen keywords but this time select the 'Articles and more' option from the drop-down menu that appears

The 'WestminsterResearch' option in the drop-down menu searches publications written by University of Westminster staff.

The 'Archives' option searches items in the University of Westminster's archive.

Go to Library Search

Referencing

A guide to citing and referencing using the Westminster Harvard style can be found on this page

It is advisable to use a reference manager, such as Mendeley, which is a simple, effective tool for managing your citation and referencing. You can create a free account here and download the desktop version from the same page.

The Westminster Harvard citation style can be installed on Mendeley.

One advantage of reference managers is that they can be integrated with Word or Office Libre, so that in-text citations and bibliographic references can be added automatically ensuring that they match up in the appropriate style.

 

Other Libraries

To discover which academic library in the London and Southeast England region holds the book and print journal material that you are looking for, the Search25 is the search engine to choose. See below for a link to Search25 and an explanation of its scope.

Once you have identified a particular library, or particular libraries, you can gain access to them via the SCONUL Access scheme. 

A link and a brief scope note of SCONUL Access is provided below.

Material can also be obtained from the British Library and other academic libraries using the InterLibrary Loan scheme, which is explained below.

A number of important national and professional libraries are also listed.

Search25

Search25 is a regional resource discovery tool providing access to the library catalogues of nearly 60 institutions and specialist collections within the M25 Consortium of Academic Libraries, helping you to obtain resources from across London and the South-East of England

SCONUL Access

To gain access to other academic libraries in London, and indeed the whole of the UK, the SCONUL Access scheme is the means of doing so. Note that it is only their print resources, not their electronic resources, to which you will have access.

Interlibrary Loans (ILL)

Books and articles that are not held by the University of Westminster can be requested through the Interlibrary Loan service. This can be accessed on the home page of Library Search by clicking on the ILL tab in the top menu bar.

British Library

There will be times during the research process when you will require the resources of other academic libraries. The major research library in the UK is the British Library. Its catalogue can be searched here. To get a reader's card, begin the registration process online on this page.

Once you have a reader's pass, you can log-in to the BL catalogue and order materials online, so that they are ready to collect when you arrive at the St Pancras readings rooms. The British Library is a reference only library. Items cannot be borrowed. However, they can be scanned.

Other useful libraries for Architecture and Cities courses include the following: 

National Art Library

The National Art Library is located inside the Victoria and Albert Museum in South Kensington. You can search the catalogue online and create an account so that you can request the books before you visit the reading room. It has many books and journals on architecture and related topics. It holds part of the British Architectural Library.

RIBA Library (British Architectural Library)

The British Architectural Library is largest and most comprehensive resource in the United Kingdom for research and information on all aspects of architecture. Related subjects such as construction, engineering, landscape architecture, interior design, planning and law are also represented in the collections. The collection holds four million items, including archives, books, drawings, periodicals and photographs, in a variety of languages and formats. It has two public sites, one at the Victoria and Albert Museum and another at the RIBA's headquarters, 66 Portland Place, London. Access to both is free.

Senate House Library

Senate House Library has many humanities and geography resources which are of great value to architecture, environmental and urban studies. It can be joined via the SCONUL Access scheme. 

Courtauld Institute of Art

The Courtauld Institute of Art is a leading centre for the study of the history and conservation of art and architecture. Currently based at Somerset House, The Courtauld is an independent college of the University of London. From September 2018, it will be moving to a temporary home at Vernon Square, King’s Cross, until 2022.

Aggregated Library Catalogues

COPAC

COPAC brings together the catalogues of over 100 major UK and Irish libraries. In a single search, you can discover the holdings of the UK’s national libraries, including the British Library, many University libraries, and specialist research libraries.

Search25

Search25 is a regional resource discovery tool providing access to the library catalogues of nearly 60 institutions and specialist collections within the M25 Consortium of Academic Libraries, helping you to obtain resources from across London and the South-East of England.

WorldCat

WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. It allows you to search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.