Skip to Main Content

Library Guides

Construction & Property: Databases

Property & Construction Information

Photo of wooden structure

The library doesn't just subscribe to books and journals, we also have access to a variety of databases.

Here are some key databases for property and construction information.

Can find what you're looking for on this page? See our A-Z list of e-resources, or contact one of the WBS librarians with a specific enquiry.

Construction Information Service

Covers all aspects of legislation, standards and guidance material for building, structural, mechanical and electrical engineering. It also includes Specify-it Building (product catalogues for the construction industry) and full-text documents from organisations such as the British Standards Institute, BRE, CIBSE, RIBA and government departments.

More about CIS!

CoStar

Information on property and estate management including market intelligence on ownership, sales, leasing, planning and development of commercial property. Set up a personal account by emailing CoStar. Your request must be sent from your Westminster email address.

More about CoStar!

NBS Chorus

NBS Chorus is an online specification platform for construction. To set up an account, send an email from your Westminster e-mail account to e-resources@westminster.ac.uk.

British Standards Online

Full-text of over 40,000 current, draft and historic British Standards, more than 16,000 of which are BSI adopted European and International standards. To download documents you will need to install the FileOpen plug-in onto your device.
 

Isurv

Provides online access to information on a wide range of built environment issues. It provides insight from industry practitioners and legal experts to help you effectively apply theory into practice and to provide you with the knowledge to resolve your workplace issues.

** Normally on-campus access only but off-site access has been arranged during Covid-19 crisis**

Estates Gazette Interactive (now Radius Data Exchange)

News and information on estates and property, covering the current property market, people and companies, and property-related legal materials. First time users must register for a personal username and password.

More about Radius Data Exchange!

Building Cost Information Service

Provides information for budget estimating and cost planning in the construction area, including news, cost analyses, index, and average building prices. 

More about BCIS!

Digimap

Ordnance Survey maps to view, print or save at pre-defined scales. You must register the first time you use Digimap and will need your University username and password to login.

More about Digimap!

Business Source Complete

BSC contains full-text journals but also has company information.

Key features: basic company information; MarketLine company profiles; quick links to search for your company in journals; company SWOT analyses; related industry reports.

More about Business Source Complete

Factiva

What is it?

An e-resource for global newspapers and business information.

Example search:

Find an article from a UK newspaper

Find an article from a global newspaper

Find global company financial information