LibGuides: Film: Home

School of Arts Librarian

Contact:

I am part of the Academic Engagement and Learning Development team (AELD). Book an appointment with me individually or in groups online or in person to discuss your research needs.

Contact me via Student Centre for appointments if no slots are suitable.

Emails to members of the Academic Engagement and Learning Development team go to an email pool in the first instance:

studentcentre@westminster.ac.uk

Subjects: Art, Fashion Design, Film, Film & TV, Photography, Visual Arts

Can't find what you need?

Library Search

Library Search is good for academic research. Not only does it list all the books that the library holds, it also provides links to content from most of the periodicals literature that we have access to.

As well as searching for a specific topic that you are interested in, look as well at books that cover a broad area.

Google books can also be useful for research.

Periodicals

Library Search is the best place to start research, but you might also want to look specifically at some of the film and television journals listed here.

You will find the following magazines available in the library, plus they are all available online apart from Cahier du Cinema and Cinefex.

American Cinematographer
Cahiers Du Cinema - French Edition
Cineaste
Cinefex
Screen International
Sight and Sound

The three key journals for media studies are available here.

Research tools

Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window
An extensive bibliography compiled by scholars and experts in cinema and media studies.
Screen Studies This link opens in a new window
Index with selected full-text to journal articles about film and television, with full production and cast information for all eras of filmmaking. Includes Film Index International (BFI), the American Film Institute Catalog and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of e-journals for the humanities, social sciences and sciences, not including the most recent issues from the past 3-5 years
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of journal articles from over 480 international publications about art, with summaries and selected full text articles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a fast and simple way to search for scholarly literature, including journal articles, books and theses.

You will need to set up the Library Link (Menu > Settings > Library links) in order to do that.
ScreenOnline This link opens in a new window
A website devoted to the history of British film and television, and to Britain's social history as revealed by film and television.
On-campus access only to film clips. Video clips must be viewed in Windows Media Player (Mac users must download Windows Media Player for Mac OS X)

Streaming services

BoB: Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
On demand TV and radio for education, with an archive of over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts. Accessible in the UK only
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
30,000+ educational documentaries and classic films from leading producers. A wide range of subject coverage (e.g. Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Health and Sciences) You can watch anytime, anywhere and on any device including via media streaming apps.
Artfilms (now Bloomsbury Video Library) This link opens in a new window
Artfilms streams 1000s of videos supporting the arts curriculum with content from top artists and producers specifically related to the creative arts. Masterclasses, documentaries, interviews: Content to entertain, educate and inform.

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
A huge range of video tutorials supporting learning in software, technology, creative and business skills – all free to University of Westminster staff and currently enrolled students.

Mediatel - stats for television and cinema

Mediatel This link opens in a new window
The UK's largest single-source of media intelligence. Includes daily updates on media news and analysis. Also includes an archive of in-depth data from a number of major research sources.
First time user? Create a personal Mediatel account by following these registration guidelines

British Film Institute Film Industry Statistics report

Library Guides

Film: Home

Library Services Orientation for new students

The new Library Services Orientation guide has been written to help new film students understand the resources and services on offer.