Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Copyright for Academics: Multi-media Resources

This guide provides guidance on copyright matters for teaching staff

Finding copyright compliant audio visual resources for your teaching

The right to perform, play, show or record a work for educational purposes is covered by an exception in the law. Therefore, if you are playing music or showing a play, film or other work to students as part of a course of study this is permitted.

Subscribed-to audio visual services

We have an ERA licence in order to provide access to the following broadcast resources which can be used for teaching.

First time users will need to create and verify their account

You can search Trilt and request for programmes to be added to Box of Broadcasts

Copyright free, non-subscription film, television and audio resources

BBC Archives

Discover themed collections of radio and TV programmes, documents and photographs from as far back as the 1930

BUFVC Learning on Screen

Search for moving image content, artefacts and sound collections from across the UK

Creative Commons Search

Find content you can share, use and remix

Internet Archive

A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more

WikiMedia Commons

A collection of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute

Library books, shelving

Regent Library at University of Westminster (C) All Rights Reserved

This image is copyright protected as the University uses the archive images for marketing purposes. To use this image in this guide we asked for permission from the University archivist

Copyright free, non-subscription image resources

ARKive: Images of Life on Earth

A record of the world’s biodiversity in films, photographs and audio recordings of the world’s species

Flickr Creative Commons

Online photo management and sharing application. See Flickr’s community guidelines

Flickr University of Westminster Archives

The University Archive collects and contains the surviving records of the corporate memory and history of the University. ​These images are copyright protected. Contact the archive if you would like to use the images in your teaching materials. Images are now being added to the Archive catalogue

Image*After

Download and use in your own work, either personal or commercial.You can modify, redistribute or sell images and textures in any way altered or unaltered. Use as part of printed work (e.g. posters, cd-covers, postcards etc).

Imperial War Museum Collection

War and conflict from the First World War to the present day.See Copyright and Re-use​

MorgueFile

Free high resolution digital photographs and reference images, for corporate or public use

Unsplash

Beautiful high resolution photographs free to use under the Unsplash licence

 

Copyright free image searches

Google Images

Search for an image in Google images, then use the Tools button to select an appropriate licence with the usage rights filter.Tin  Eye reverse image search will help you check that the image is genuinely free to use.

Creative Commons Search

Find content you can share, use and remix, Always check terms of use.

Xpert Attribution Tool

​Find images that are stored in Flickr that are either in the public domain or licenced with a creative commons licence         

Disclaimer

Disclaimer: The guide in no way substitutes for formal legal advice. If you are in any doubt or require further information we recommend you consult the sources of further advice at the end of this guide.