Skip to main content

Library Guides

Complementary Medicine: Home

Complementary medicine, Chinese medicine, Herbal medicine

Welcome to the Complementary Medicine library guide

New books

The Chinese Herbalist's Handbook

The Chinese Herbalist's Handbook is a new tool for prescribing and modifying herbal formulas. This book makes the practice of herbs easily accessible to Chinese medical practitioners and students.

The Kew Plant Glossary

This is an essential companion for anyone working with plant descriptions, plant identification keys, floras, monographs and field guides. In this second edition 4,500 botanical terms are described with accompanying illustrations, including a new section on vegetation terms and an updated colour section.

Consultation in Phytotherapy

The Consultation in Phytotherapy considers the means by which the herbal practitioner can seek to appreciate the patient's predicament. The book takes a radical approach, challenging readers to reflect on the nature, scope and methods of the consultation in herbal practice.

Kitchen Medicine

In Kitchen Medicine the authors describe the wealth of healing and emergency remedies that sit unused and idle in the kitchen.

Fundamentals of Pharmacognosy and Phytotherapy

Covers the history, biology and chemistry of plant-based medicines. Examines the therapeutics and evidence of plant-based medicines by body system. Sections on regulatory information expanded and new evidence updates throughout.

Clinical Handbook of Chinese Herbs

This revised edition of Maclean's classic Clinical Handbook of Chinese Herbs is an extensive and detailed guide to the medicinal properties of traditional Chinese herbs, and how they should be prescribed in medical practice.

Chinese Medicine from the Classics

This book provides an introduction to the medicine of the Neijing and is a guide to the Monkey Press series 'Chinese Medicine from the Classics'.

Chinese Medicinal Plants, Herbal Drugs and Substitutes

This is the first botanically authoritative and practical illustrated identification guide to Chinese medicinal plants and drugs and their substitutes.

Chinese Herbal Medicines

Chinese Herbal Medicines: Comparisons and Characteristics presents a method of learning individual herbs through vivid and clear discussion of their characteristics and through a comparison with other herbs of their characteristics and strengths.

Application of Chinese Herbal Compatibility

Little has been written since the days of the Huang Di Nei Jing about the secondary systems of channels and collaterals.  This book completes all the other text and fills this gap.

Chinese Herbal Medicine

This book gathers the herbal formulas of master practitioner Dr. John H. F. Shen for the first time. It incorporates the experience of Dr. Leon Hammer, and also presents the stimulus, rationale, and thinking behind many of the formulas.

Botany: An Introduction to Plant Biology

The sixth edition of Botany: An Introduction to Plant Biology provides a modern and comprehensive overview of the fundamentals of botany while retaining the important focus of natural selection, analysis of botanical phenomena, and diversity.

Botanical Medicine for Women's Health

Botanical Medicine for Women's Health, 2nd Edition provides an evidence-based, patient-centered approach to botanical interventions for many different medical conditions.

Becoming a Reflective Practitioner

Becoming a Reflective Practitioner provides a unique insight into reflective practice, exploring the value of using models of reflection, with particular reference to Christopher Johns' own model for structured reflection.

Massage Therapist's Guide to Pathology

This Sixth Edition continues to set the standard through up-to-date, evidence-based content, an outstanding full color illustration program, and a friendly, accessible writing style.

Your library

The Complementary Medicine courses are supported at Cavendish Library.  Find us on the 3rd floor of Cavendish Building.

You will need your ID card for access to this and all other University of Westminster libraries.

Library Search

Library search homepage

Use Library Search to search across our physical and online collections and manage your library account.

Academic Liaison Librarian

Julia  Hendricks's picture
Julia Hendricks
Contact:
Cavendish Library
University of Westminster
115 New Cavendish Street
London W1W 6UW
020 3506 4058