Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Guides

Guide to Library and Archive Services During COVID-19: Archive

University of Westminster Archive

The University of Westminster Archive can continue to offer many services to staff, students and the general public during the physical closure of the collections. The University of Westminster Archive can be contacted at archive@westminster.ac.uk

We will continue to provide an enquiry service during the physical closure period. This will include providing information about the University’s history where this does not require further research in the physical archives, and signposting to our material that is available online. We are also happy to provide staff and students with guidance and advice about researching in archives elsewhere, including information on which collections are open for research, and online resources.

Our Catalogue

Information about our collections can be found on our online catalogue https://westminster-atom.arkivum.net/. This includes descriptions of material held by the University Archive, and digital surrogates for any material that has already been digitised. We expect to be adding more digital surrogates during the closure period, so please check back regularly, or contact us if there is something specific that you are looking for. Please note that it will not be possible for us to digitise material on demand, as access to physical collections will be restricted.

Polytechnic Touring Association

The majority of the Polytechnic Touring Association archive was digitised as part of Adam Matthews ‘Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture’ resource, and is available online at http://www.masstourism.amdigital.co.uk/. Staff and students of the University can access this resource by clicking any link on the homepage, which will take you through to the login screen. Then choose ‘The UK Access Management Federation’ login option.

Polytechnic Magazines

A separate website exists for the Polytechnic Magazines, which have been digitised in their entirety from 1879 to 1960. https://polymags.westminster.ac.uk/ The Polytechnic Magazines give extensive details of the institution’s activities during this period and are an excellent resource for researching the Polytechnic’s educational, sporting and social activities.

Westminster Menswear Archive

Information about the Westminster Menswear Archive’s collection is available on our online catalogue at https://westminster-atom.arkivum.net/. This includes descriptions of garments held by the University, and in many cases also photographs. We expect to be adding more descriptions and photographs during the closure period, so please check back regularly or contact us if there is something specific that you are looking for. Please note that it will not be possible for us to photograph garments on demand, as access to physical collections will be restricted. The Westminster Menswear Archive staff can be contacted at mensweararchive@westminster.ac.uk