LibGuides: Applied Management databases: Planex

What is Planex

How to search Planex?

Below are a number of tips for searching Planex:

Try using both the basic and advanced search options, the advanced search offers extra fields to help you refine your search
Trying guiding your search by using Boolean operators (search commands). There is a useful outline of these in the official user guide and handy 'Boolean machine' for a visual representation
Try sorting your results by relevance rather than the default ascending date order
If you find your search returns no or very few results, go back to the search screen and modify your search terms
If you retrieve a large number of results Planex will only display the top 10

Planex official user guide

How to access the full article

When you find an article you would like to read, click on the title. Look for the Search University of Westminster link to see if the University has acess to the article. If there is no availability, go back to the description page and click on the 'Request from IDOX archive' button to ask the administrator to get the article from the archive.

Other resources to try

CoStar Suite This link opens in a new window
Information on property and estate management including market intelligence on ownership, sales, leasing, planning and development of commercial property. Also includes demographic and socio-economic information on towns.

Set up a personal account by emailing CoStar. Your request must be sent from your Westminster email address.
Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
Standards, legislation and guidance material for the construction industry from over 150 national organisations, including full text British Standards.

UPDATE: You now need to create an account to access Construction Information Service.
BCIS Online This link opens in a new window
Provides information for budget estimating and cost planning in the construction area, including news, cost analyses, index, and average building prices.
isurv This link opens in a new window
Produced by RICS, isurv covers commercial property, construction, disputes, environment, valuation and the Red Book. It includes case law, forms and precedents and RICS guidance notes.
Digimap Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Ordnance Survey maps to view, print or save at pre-defined scales. Digimap includes both current maps, and a range of historic maps dating back to the 1840s.
Your will need your University username and password to login. You will need to register the first time you use Digimap.

Library Guides

Applied Management databases: Planex

What is Planex

How to search Planex?

Planex official user guide

How to access the full article

Other resources to try

CONNECT WITH US