The library is increasing the provision of online resources by buying additional resources. Much of the free access to additional resources provided by publishers has now ceased (as of 1st July). We will be subscribing to a number of new resources for the coming year. Make sure you look at the E-Resources tab of this guide to find sources.
The Academic Liaison Librarian team are also still available for one-to-one appointments, and providing training sessions online.
If you can't find the book you want online, you can still put in an inter-library loan request and we will try to obtain an online copy for you.
I have collated some BOB playlists here.
The publishers of large format visual arts books such as exhibition catalogues do not supply ebooks to libraries, so are unlikely to be able to join in with these initiatives. This includes even relatively large publishers in that area such as Phaidon, Taschen and Thames & Hudson.
Individual publishers might have relevant initiatives, which I am looking out for.
Individual artists/writers may have material on their own websites. For example:
Some museums have made selected catalogues available. For example:
You should also take a look at the digital libraries listed below.
The Internet Archive and related Open Library can be good for older material for arts subjects. Some examples include:
Registration is necessary to access some books - the same account will work on both platforms. There is currently a legal challenge to the 'controlled digital lending' model the Internet Archive operate, which they claim to be fair use under US law.
Google Books has extensive previews of some texts submitted by publishers to promote their content, including recent texts. For example:
Project Guttenberg is strictly limited to out of US copyright books. Examples include:
Public Books lists open access books from US academic publishers
There are a few interesting commercial initiatives currently available. For example:
Welcome to the library guide for music. The aim of this guide is to provide helpful resources and tips for research in music. The library collection includes books, magazines, journals, CDs, and DVDs, as well as electronic resources that provide information about music.
Main collection 740-999, journal and magazine collection, DVD collection
Key text collection 001-999, main collection 001-739, training room, toilets, courtyard, EMS space
Welcome desk, self-service machines, laptop loans, reservations
306.484- (music sociology)
347.30497 (music law)
621.3893 (audio engineering)
780.263 (music scores)
781-788 (music principles, forms, ensembles
Print journals and magazines are on display on the second floor of the library. Browse them for ideas of what's happening in music and the other creative industries. Back issues of magazines are filed away in title order at teh far end of the second floor. Magazines and journals can't be taken out of the library.
Find more online magazines and journals using Library Search.