Modern Languages: Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Comprehensive online bilingual dictionaries in a number of world languages, including:

Chinese

French

Italian

Spanish

German

Arabic

Russian

Portuguese

Dictionaries via Credo Reference

Credo Reference contains over 500 online reference books, including mono and bilingual dictionaries.

Collins French Dictionary and Grammar

Collins German Dictionary

Collins Italian Dictionary

Collins Polish Dictionary

Collins Spanish Dictionary

Business

Business French Dictionary

Business German Dictionary

Business Spanish Dictionary

Italian Business Dictionary

Law

Spanish Law Dictionary

Science, Engineering, Media, Technology

German Technical Dictionary (vol 1)

German Technical Dictionary (vol 2)

Cultural References

The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French

Medicine

Cosnautas (English-Spanish professional resources for medical translators)

Free Technical Dictionaries / Glossaries for Translation

ProZ.com

Search millions of translated terms and phrases in a collection of glossaries and dictionaries built by and for professional translators. This is a resource for technical words in many fields, including law, medicine, science, business, technology and arts subjects.

IATE

IATE is a vast database of terminology applied in official public EU documents, covering many fields and all official EU languages. It includes legal terms and terminology in many other domains as well, including finance, science, agriculture, among others. It covers 25 languages in total and is regularly updated by translators and interpreters.

Wisconsin Court Services Resources for Interpreters

This site lists a number of free legal terminology glossaries in various languages, including Arabic, Chinese, French, German and Spanish.

NCSC Legal Glossaries and Dictionaries

This site lists further free legal terminology glossaries in various languages.

Free Bilingual Arabic Dictionaries

Almaany.com

Al-Mawrid Arabic-English Dictionary

These dictionaries are available in print within the book collection at Cavendish library.

Law

The Council of Europe French Legal Dictionary / F.H.S Bridge

A Dictionary of Legal Terms: Spanish-English / Enrique Alcaraz Varó and Brian Hughes