Skip to Main Content

Library Guides

Community Music: Home

Links to resources available to Community Music

Introduction

This page provides details of resources that are available to students at Community Music.  

Login help for e-resources

Whenever you come across the University of Westminster branded log on box, enter your username and password

It should resemble something like this image shown below:

Access to libraries

Community Music students can normally access any library within the University of Westminster to study or to borrow books.  Books can be transferred from the Harrow site (where most of the music books are held) to a site where it may be more convenient.  We have sites on Marylebone Road, New Cavendish Street, Little Titchfield Street, and next to Northwick Park Hospital in Harrow. 

To view what is available, you should sign in to our search interface at www.westminster.ac.uk/librarysearch

Subscription services

These subscription databases are available until September 2022 and will be reviewed at that time. 

 

Access to magazines and newspapers. Includes Mojo, Rolling Stone, Sound & Vision, Computer Music, Future Music, Kerang! and other titles

 

This invaluable digital library for global popular music brings together leading scholarship and interactive tools to hit the right note for research and learning. It is an ideal resource for students and academics across disciplines including music, ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.

VLeBooks hosts a large collection of ebooks from a variety of publishers, including some relevant titles in the Music, Stage & Screen category. 

Over 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences.

Over 650 e-journals published by Taylor and Francis, Routledge and Psychology Press. Search for Popular Music and Society to explore content within this journal.

Around 400 journals covering abroad range of subject areas. Search for Popular Music to explore content within this journal.

Journal of Popular Music Studies is the peer-reviewed, quarterly publication of the U.S. Branch of the International Association for the Study of Popular Music.

  • Music Week - sign in to Library Search, and select Miscellaneous e-journals to access

Public libraries

Westminster City Council Library Service is well worth joining, as they have some good electronic resources many of which you can access remotely.  There is access to eBooks, eMagazines, eNewspapers, and eAudiobooks.  They also have several libraries across the borough, and you do not have to live in the borough to join.  You can join online here.

You could also look to see what is available in other borough libraries (e.g. Tower Hamlets libraries has many eresources).

Online collections

  • Google Books has extensive previews of some texts submitted by publishers to promote their content, including recent texts. 
  • The Internet Archive and related Open Library can be good for older material for arts subjects.
  • Apple books provides free extracts or purchase
  • Google Play provides free extracts, purchase or rental of books
  • Kindle provides free extracts of most of academic books available on Kindle (you can read them on the Kindle app, even if you don't have a Kindle device)