No matter where you are in your financial life, this video can help you get a handle on your finances and lay the groundwork for your financial future. Each video, they offer a new tip, designed to help you make smart decisions about your money. They discuss the financial considerations around going back to school, making sure you and your partner are financially compatible, retiring, having a child, paying off loans, and taking care of your pets. They also explain basic economic terms such as economic cycles, what the sharing economy is, and how to manage your asset to cash ratio.
In this course, join accounting professors Jim and Kay Stice as they help you discover how to leverage the power of numbers to approach businesses problems and make everyday decisions. They explore the power of ratios and percentages, how to monitor and evaluate your budget, how to forecast the timing and amount of a business loan, and much more.
A collection of videos on how to collect and analyze financial information to evaluate economic conditions.
Link to video collection on becoming an economist
The collection includes the following courses:
This course breaks down key economic indicators, from big-picture data like inflation and unemployment, to sector data such as home and auto sales. Economist Jason Schenker explains how each indicator impacts the global economy and your own wallet, and how markets typically react to upward and downward trends. You can use the same easy-to-find online resources to follow along with the latest data.
Jim and Kay Stice provide a comprehensive overview of finance, touching on everything from reading a balance sheet to understanding derivatives and securities. They tackle questions such as "What is the difference between short-term financial management and long-term financing?" and "What is the difference between a traditional bank, an investment bank, and an investment fund?" Along the way, you can get an inside look at financial reports from companies such as Walmart and Toys "R" Us, the IPOs of Microsoft and Facebook, and even the data that go into personal financial decisions, such as deciding whether to buy a car.
This collection helps you to review concepts such as financial analysis, accounting, and budgeting; learn how to use financial data to diagnose business conditions, identify issues, and develop plans; explore processes to determine how money will be spent to get work done and see how to establish and maintain realistic budgets.
Link to video collection Develop Your Finance and Accounting Skills
The collection includes the following courses:
Learn the most up-to-date finance skills based on LinkedIn data.
Link to video collection Essential New Skills in Finance
The collection includes the following courses:
This video breaks down essential accounting and finance concepts into manageable, bite-sized chunks, helping you understand the balance sheet, debits and credits, company operating cycles, and more. In addition, the video explains where to find accounting information in the real world, and what to do with it once you have it.
Nowhere is data science more relevant than finance. Tracking the movement of money around the globe is one of the primary tasks for today's analysts. In this course, find out how algorithms, automation, big data applications, and machine learning are changing the nature of economics, banking, and finance. Learn how data science affects the way stocks are bought and sold, how loan applications are processed, and even how fraud is detected now that financial information is exchanged online at such a massive scale. Discover how social media influences economic trends, and why data scientists need to be especially careful to keep ethics in mind and false assumptions in check when dealing with financial data.
Video on The Data Science of Economics, Banking, and Finance
