LibGuides: Psychology: Key resources

Psychology specific resources

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals, including 48 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA). It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal, with content from 1894 to the present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Equivalent to Psychological Abstracts plus index to dissertations. International coverage of over 1300 current periodicals. Database includes archive from 1984. Books in the English language from 1987 onwards. Contains bibliographical references and abstracts for articles and book chapters. Covers psychology and related disciplines such as sociology, psychiatry, medicine, linguistics etc. Online thesaurus.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of over 400 psychology titles from OUP, covering the core areas of cognitive research, such as cognitive development, developmental neuroscience, affect and emotion, perception, memory, attention, social cognition/social neuroscience, behavioral neuroendocrinology, cognitive models and architectures, ethology and comparative cognition, behavioral genetics, and cognitive engineering/human-technology interaction.
Oxford Scholarship Online: Neuroscience This link opens in a new window
Access to the full-text of over 100 neuroscience titles from OUP, covering molecular and cellular, behavioral, developmental, and cognitive neuroscience, disorders of the nervous, sensory, motor, and autonomic systems, as well as on a full range of methods and techniques, behavioral neuroendocrinology, invertebrate neurobiology, and the history of neuroscience.

Multidisciplinary resources

Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Over 650 e-journals published by Taylor and Francis, Routledge and Psychology Press. Subjects include social sciences, psychology and education.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Over 1200 social science journals from Sage.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
E-journals and e-books published by Wiley, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Over 2000 e-journals published by Elsevier. The primary focus is on science, but it also includes many journals in other subject areas.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to 2000 e-journals covering biosciences, computer science, engineering, business & economics, and humanities & social sciences, plus table of contents of books and monograph series.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of e-journals for the humanities, social sciences and sciences, not including the most recent issues from the past 3-5 years
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, market research, company profiles and country reports.

How to access & use Business Source Complete [video]
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 250 online reference books, dictionaries and encyclopedias in a range of subjects.

Other useful resources

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
A huge range of video tutorials supporting learning in software, technology, creative and business skills – all free to University of Westminster staff and currently enrolled students.
BoB: Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
On demand TV and radio for education, with an archive of over 2 million TV and radio broadcasts. Accessible in the UK only

How to use BoB [videos]
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Professionally indexed, the PsycTESTS® database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences.

Focused on a collection of instrumentation tools developed for research but not made commercially available, PsycTESTS helps researchers easily find scales and measures for their own use. PsycTESTS is an indispensable resource for researchers looking to conduct, create, or measure research in multiple fields of study.

SPSS
Information from the Technical Services team about how to install/access and use SPSS can be found on Blackboard.
For further support, please get in touch with the Psychology Technicians: psy-tech@westminster.ac.uk.

Library Guides

Psychology: Key resources

Psychology specific resources

Multidisciplinary resources

Other useful resources

CONNECT WITH US