Skip to Main Content

Library Guides

Architecture and Cities: Databases

This guide covers the courses delivered within the Architecture + Cities School

Electronic Resources

The most relevant databases for Architecture and Interiors, Planning, Housing and Urban Design, Tourism and Events and Transport and Logistics courses are listed below in the appropriate boxes. 

Link directly to the E-Resources A-Z Library Guide. 

Architectural design and architectural history

AJBL: Architects Journal Buildings Library

The first time that you use this resource, you will have to register. The database that showcases more than 1,900 exemplar projects, most from the last 20 years but including major projects back to 1900. The projects can be generated as a report containing photographs and drawings and saved as a PDF file. 

Architecture databases from ProQuest

This is a collection of three databases: ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM); Avery Index to Periodicals; and Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI). The databases can be searched individually or collectively. The search results provide access to the full text of articles, links to the full text of articles in databases to which the University of Westminster subscribes or, in some cases, links to the print journal held in the architecture library in Marylebone Road.

Art, Design and Architecture Collection

This collection has four databases: ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM); Arts and Humanities Database; Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI); and International Bibliography of Art (IBA)

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

This is an index of journal articles from more than 2,500 journals in architecture, urban design, historic preservation, and urban planning history.

Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984

Art Full Text covers approximately 500 international publications about art, including architecture considered as an art, not all of which, contrary to its name, are available as full text. Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984, covers over 600 periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, etc. published during the period from the Great Depression to the early Thatcher-Reagan years.

Arts databases from ProQuest

ARTbibliographies Modern ABM); Arts & Humanities Database; Avery Index to Periodicals; British Periodicals; Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI); ERIC; Humanities Index

 

Bloomsbury Architecture Library

Includes Sir Banister Fletcher's Global History of Architecture 21st edition, Timeline of World Architecture, key building and glossary.

Credo Reference

This collection of over 250 online reference books, dictionaries and encyclopedias has many articles that pertain to architectural design and styles.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

60,000+ biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000 (excluding people who are still alive).

 

DETAIL Inspiration

This is the online version of the print journal, Detail: Zeitschrift für Architektur + Baudetail : review of architecture : revue d'architecture, held in Marylebone library. It is an online image and reference database for architects in the German and English language. It includes photos, drawings and technical information collected over the last 30 years of over 3,500 architecture and construction projects and references available for download as pdf files. The database is updated monthly, with over 156 new projects and references added each year.

El Croquis Digital Library 

El Croquis is a high profile and prestigious architectural publication. Its bimonthly monographs analyse the work of the most outstanding architects on the international scene.

JSTOR

This archive holds over 1000 e-journals for the humanities, social sciences and sciences, including architecture, but not including the most recent issues from the past 3-5 years

Interdisciplinary Databases for Architecture, Planning, Transport and Urban Design

Databases accessible from Library Search

SAGE Journals Online 

Over 450 social science journals from Sage.

ScienceDirect

Over 2000 e-journals published by Elsevier. The primary focus is on science, but it also includes many journals in other subject areas.

SpringerLink

Full-text access to 1100 e-journals covering biosciences, computer science, engineering, business and economics, and humanities and social sciences, plus table of contents of books and monograph series.

Taylor and Francis Online

Over 650 e-journals published by Taylor and Francis, Routledge and Psychology Press. Subjects include social sciences, psychology and education.

Wiley Online Library

E-journals and e-books published by Wiley, covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities

Additional sources

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic web resources.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

DOAB aims to increase the discoverability of Open Access books.

British Library - Remote Electronic Resources

The databases listed on this page are accessible for those with e British Library reader's ticket.

Theses

Finding a PhD thesis which is relevant to your research topic my be valuable for several reasons. For example, PhDs have a literature review which you may find helpful both as an example of how to structure a literature review and for its content which you may wish to cite. Also, it will have an extensive bibliography that will assist you in the search for book titles relevant for your research topic.

EThOS

Search over 500,000 UK doctoral theses deposited at the British Library. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily.

Open Dissertations

This database offers access to more than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations.​

PQDT Open

PQDT is a database of open access theses and dissertations

OpenDOAR

This is a global directory that lists academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

A resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine)

Use Advanced Search to restrict queries to theses and dissertations.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations

Visual and Audio-Visual Resources

Alexander Street Press Videos

This resource contains a selection of videos on topics related to architecture, cities, transport, housing and the like. It permits the creation of playlists and making video clips. The videos will generally be of value for cultural or historical research.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

This is an on demand television and radio service for education. It contains 1.5 million broadcasts, dating back to the 1990s. From Sept 2016, BoB contains a permanent archive of all broadcast content from 9 channels: BBC1 London / BBC2 / BBC4 / ITV London / Channel 4 / More4 / Channel 5 / BBC Radio 4 / BBC Radio 4 Extra. You can search and request content from BBC programmes back to 2007.

Box of Broadcasts is best used with TRILT (Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching) in which you can search the listings index to see when a television programme or film was broadcast on UK television, or find out about forthcoming programmes. Coverage is from 1995 onwards. Note that you will need to log in on-campus and off-campus

Europeana Collections

A portal for artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.

Kanopy

Kanopy is a streaming video platform that offers classic and independent films and documentaries.

PYMCA (via MediaPlus)

PYMCA is a specialist resource featuring over 40,000 exclusive photographs, moving images, texts, graphics, digital magazines and supplementary research. With insight materials covering the last 150 years of Youth Culture, Youth Tribes and Social History. You will need to register for access, using your University of Westminster email address.

RIBApix

RIBA's image library has over 95,000 photographs and drawings from the RIBA Collections. They are available to view, buy and download.

Historic England

Range of photographs, including aerial, plans and drawings, covering the historic environment of England.

YouTube Architecture Channels

YouTube hosts a wide range of channels devoted to architecture. Examples include, CTBUH (Council for Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat), Chicago Architecture Center, donotsettle, Harvard GSD (Graduate School of Design), Architecture is a Good Idea (Radosław Gajda and Natalia Szcześniak), Archdaily, and dezeen

Data and Statistics

A great deal of data at the national and international levels is freely available online via such organisations as the World Bank, the IMF, the OECD and the CIA's World Factbook.

The main statistical database to which the University of Westminster subscribes is Statista.

Statista

aggregates statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. With Statista, you can access the most recent and relevant statistics and studies on a specific topic by simply entering a keyword.

Passport (Euromonitor)

contains statistical data on more than 200 countries, in depth analysis for 80 countries. Includes over 15,000 industry, company, country and consumer reports.

Eurostat

Eurostat, the statistical office of the European Union, provides high quality statistics for Europe. Register for an account to gain access to the data.

EIU Viewswire 

carries daily business intelligence on 203 countries, including updates on important economic, political, business and market developments.

UK Data Service

This service service provides unified access to the UK's largest collection of social, economic and population data for research and teaching purposes covering a range of different disciplines. The majority of the data are fully anonymised, unless otherwise specified in the relevant online catalogue records, and are therefore not suitable for genealogical users or family historians.

Urban Big Data Centre

The Urban Big Data Centre is a research centre and national data service based at the University of Glasgow. It promotes the use of big data and innovative research methods to improve social, economic and environmental well-being in cities.

 

Architecture, Environment, Technology and Materials

ACM Digital Library

This database has articles and conference proceedings that cover the technical aspects of smart buildings, smart cities, the Internet of Things, augmented reality, virtual reality and buildings and cities as socio-technical assemblages.

BCIS Online

This resource can only be accessed on campus. It provides cost and price information for the construction industry. Quarterly briefings are provided that give a five-year forecast of building costs and tender prices.

Construction Information Service (CIS)

CIS is a comprehensive source of technical standards legislation and technical guidance for construction industry professionals. This resource also contains Specify-it and Engineer-it, which provide access to continually updated supplier information.

CoStar Suite

This website contains information on property and estate management including market intelligence on ownership, sales, leasing, planning and development of commercial property. It also includes demographic and socio-economic information on towns.

Set up a personal account by emailing CoStar at helpdesk@costar.co.uk. Your request must be sent from your Westminster email address.

During the period of lockdown due to the coronavirus, the CoStar support team are still here to support you and your use of the CoStar platform:

  • Is there an assignment you are currently working on and stuck for where to find the information you need in CoStar? 
  • Do you need help running your lease comps searches? 
  • Have you seen the new planning data now available within the platform? 
  • Are you able to navigate to the CoStar market/submarket reports or run custom analysis? · Do you want to go back to basics and refresh on how to set alerts, customise results screens?

If you need support, contact Sarah Jane Hatch: shatch@costar.co.uk

ICE Current Engineering Journals Collection

This journal collection disseminates best practice, expert advice, and ground-breaking research in the fields of civil engineering, construction and materials science.

ICE Virtual Library Archive

ICE Publishing, established in 1836, is a leading provider of information for academics, researchers and practitioners worldwide in the fields of civil engineering, construction and materials science.

IEEE Xplore

Similarly to the ACM Digital Library, IEEE Xplore has articles and conference proceedings that cover the technical aspects of smart buildings, smart cities, the Internet of Things, augmented reality, virtual reality and buildings and cities as socio-technical assemblages.

PLEA (Passive and Low Energy Architecture)

The PLEA organisation is engaged in a worldwide discourse on sustainable architecture and urban design through annual international conferences, workshops and publications. The site maintains a searchable database of papers from past conferences.

Transport and Logistics

TRID: the TRIS and ITRD database

TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.

London Datastore

The London Datastore is a free and open data-sharing portal where anyone can access data relating to London. The site provides over 700 datasets to help you understand the city and develop solutions to London’s problems.

International Transport Forum (OECD)

The International Transport Forum at the OECD is an intergovernmental organisation with 60 member countries. It acts as a think tank for transport policy and organises the Annual Summit of transport ministers. ITF is the only global body that covers all transport modes. The ITF is administratively integrated with the OECD, yet politically autonomous.

Transport Research and Innovation Portal (TRIP)

The Transport Research & Innovation Portal (TRIP) is the one single portal for all transport research conducted at European and national levels and in ERA countries. Providing the most up-to–date information on transport research projects, programmes and activities, TRIP aims to increase awareness, understanding, and the take-up of transport research results. TRIP showcases over 7300 projects and their associated documents and more than 300 national, European and international transport research programmes. It also provides background information on the organisation of transport research in the 30 ERA countries and in Europe as a whole.

 

Tourism and Events

Leisure Tourism

This is an index of journal articles about travel, tourism, leisure and recreation, entertainment and cultural heritage, natural environment and urban regeneration.

Mintel

Mintel contains UK market research reports on a wide range of sectors including finance, leisure, retail, and travel and tourism.

UNWTO eLibrary

This online service from the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) with a broad coverage of tourism and related subject areas, including ecotourism and sustainable development, tourism statistics, market research, innovation and new technologies and tourism policies. It also contains books, journals and statistical reports by country and by indicator.

Standards, Regulations and Laws

BAILII: British and Irish Legal Information Institute

The British and Irish Legal Information Institute provides access to free legislation and cases, Law Commission reports and EU cases.

British Standards Online

Standards define best practice in many different areas. They are put together by groups of experts and come in a number of different kinds, from a set of definitions to a series of strict rules. BSO provides access to the full-text of over 40,000 current, draft and historic British Standards, more than 16,000 of which are BSI adopted European and International standards.

Construction Information Service (CIS)

CIS is a comprehensive source of technical standards legislation and technical guidance for construction industry professionals. This resource also contains Specify-it and Engineer-it, which provide access to continually updated supplier information.

NBS Chorus

Chorus is a fully online specification platform for construction. Access anywhere, on any capable device (including Mac). To request an account, send an email from your Westminster e-mail account to e-resources@westminster.ac.uk

Hein Online

Includes the Law Journal Library, an archive of full-text journal articles from 1250, mainly American, law journals; Foreign and International Law Resources Database and English reports.

Lexis Library

Legislation, case law, journal articles and commentaries, including Halsburys Laws, Encyclopedia of Forms and Precedents, All England Law Reports and more. Also covers EU, US and some international law.

Westlaw UK

Coverage includes The Law Reports, Criminal Appeal Reports, Common Market Law Reports, European Human Rights Reports, as well as other law reports. Also includes full text UK Legislation, case citator, legislation citator and full text journal articles.

Maps and Satellite Images

Charles Booth's London: Poverty Maps and Police Notebooks

This database enables you to search the catalogue of over 450 original notebooks from the Inquiry into Life and Labour in London (1886-1903), view 41 digitised notebooks and explore the London poverty maps.

Digimap 

Ordnance Survey maps to view, print or save at pre-defined scales. Digimap includes both current maps, and a range of historic maps dating back to the 1840s. The first time you use Digimap, you will need to register. Digimap has its own Youtube channel where you find videos showing you how to use the many features of the resource.

Historical maps at the British Library

EO Browser

EO Browser makes it possible to browse and compare full resolution images from the following sources: Sentinel-1, Sentinel-2, Sentinel-3, ESA’s archive of Landsat 5, 7 and 8, global coverage of Landsat 8, Envisat Meris, Proba-V and MODIS products. You can zoom in to any location, enter a time range, pick the satellite sources you like, and then produce a time-lapse video of how the scene has evolved.

News and Media Databases

Below is a list of print media and broadcast media databases, covering news discourse from the 17th century to the present day

BoB: Box of Broadcasts

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a database of on demand television and radio for educational institutions. It has an archive of over 2 million television and radio broadcasts.

British Library Newspapers

This is an index of the national newspaper archive of over 52,000 international and British newspapers from 1801 to present 

EIU Viewswire

Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit, this database contains daily business intelligence on 203 countries, including updates on important economic, political, business and market developments.

British Newspapers 1600-1900

This database allows you to cross-search national and regional newspapers and news pamphlets from the Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century Newpapers and the British Library's 19th Century Newspapers Collection.

Factiva

This database allows you to access to global news sources including major world newspapers in different scripts and language, also includes company financial data.

Lexis Library News Search

Provides full text access to UK national and regional newspapers.

Software and Online Tutorials

LinkedIn Learning (Formerly Lynda.com)

A platform for video tutorials supporting learning in software, technology, creative and business skills.

NVivo

Software for qualitative analysis, sometimes known as Computer Assisted Qualitative Data Analysis Software (CAQDAS)

Download NVivo 12 (Windows and Mac): https://goo.gl/X1RLk5

NVivo videos: https://goo.gl/JAVryW

NVivo tutorials in LinkedIn Learning: https://www.linkedin.com/learning/nvivo-2018-essential-training/tour-the-user-interface?u=42314660