Numerous high-quality research methods courses are available at no cost, making methodological training accessible to researchers worldwide regardless of institutional affiliation or financial resources. For example:
Understanding Research Methods
The Understanding Research Methods course by the University of London is a free online MOOC designed to make research concepts and practices accessible, especially for undergraduate students. It provides a comprehensive introduction to both quantitative and qualitative research methods, equipping learners with the skills needed to design, conduct, and evaluate research across disciplines.
The course covers essential topics such as research design, data collection, and analysis techniques, while also addressing mixed methods, research ethics, and the broader political context of social research. Whether you’re new to research or looking to strengthen your methodological foundation, this course offers a practical starting point.
National Centre for Research Methods
The National Centre for Research Methods (NCRM) offers an extensive collection of over 90 high-quality online tutorials covering a wide range of research methodology topics. Developed by leading UK academics and methodologists, these tutorials reflect the latest best practices and are ideal for learners looking to deepen their understanding of both quantitative and qualitative approaches.
Topics include statistical modelling, survey and experimental design, qualitative analysis, longitudinal studies, and mixed methods integration. These peer-reviewed resources are suitable for students, early-career researchers, and anyone seeking to strengthen their methodological skills.
Alison's Essentials of Research Methodology
Alison's Essentials of Research Methodology teaches fundamental principles of research design, data collection, and analysis through interactive modules and practical exercises.
FutureLearn's Research Methods: A Practical Guide
FutureLearn's Research Methods: A Practical Guide (https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/research-methods-a-practical-guide-to-peer-and-community-research ) offers a ten-week course from King's College London that provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of research methodology with practical applications.
Data Management for Clinical Research
Data Management for Clinical Research (https://www.coursera.org/learn/clinical-data-management) provides a focused introduction to the essential principles and techniques of managing data in clinical research settings. Designed for those working with sensitive health data, the course emphasizes both scientific accuracy and regulatory compliance throughout the research process.
You can explore topics such as clinical data management workflows, electronic data capture systems, quality assurance, data security, and regulatory frameworks. The course also covers database design, statistical planning, and strategies for responsible data sharing and archiving.
