StatsTutor: an online support centre featuring a host of statistics resources. Includes case-study videos, facts and formulae leaflets, video tutorials, teach yourself booklets and tests/quizzes. The resources are from respected sources across the University sector, business and government organisations
Getting started with SPSS - a free course by Open University
Khan Academy: lots of clear videos and activities on statistics and probability
Statistics help us make sense of the world around us. These numbers help everyone from political pollsters to fantasy football aficionados make informed calls based on the mountains of data at their disposal. In this weekly series, learn how to decode the statistics that pop up on a daily basis. Eddie Davila explores a new eclectic, real-world topic each week. Learn how stats are used to find the average score on a test, how casinos use stats to ensure that the house will usually win, and more.
Interactive Statistics
To complement the everyday statistics video, learners can explore Interactive Statistics, which offers engaging tutorials, games, and simulations that bring statistical concepts to life. The platform includes the Box Plot Creation Game, random number generators, and interactive frequency table activities that make abstract statistical concepts tangible and understandable.
W3Schools Statistics Tutorial
W3Schools Statistics Tutorial offers a structured, beginner-friendly approach to learning statistics with 36 tutorial pages covering essential concepts from data gathering to advanced statistical analysis. The tutorials are designed with clear examples and practical applications that help students understand how statistics apply to real-world scenarios.
A collection of videos covering statistics foundations, Excel statistics essential training, big data management and others.
Access the LinkedIn Learning Video Collection on Statistics and Data Management
The collection includes the following courses:
Carnegie Mellon's Open Learning Initiative
Expanding beyond the LinkedIn Learning collection, Carnegie Mellon's Open Learning Initiative (https://oli.cmu.edu/courses/probability-statistics-open-free/) provides a complete introductory-level course that teaches basic statistical concepts and the logic of statistical reasoning. This platform is particularly strong in its adaptive learning technology that personalizes the learning experience based on individual student progress.
JMP Statistical Thinking (STIPS)
JMP Statistical Thinking (STIPS) offers a free, comprehensive online statistics course focused on building practical skills for using data to solve problems. The course emphasizes statistical thinking over mathematical formulas, making it accessible to students from diverse academic backgrounds.
Wolfram U's Introduction to Statistics (https://www.wolfram.com/wolfram-u/courses/mathematics/introduction-to-statistics/) provides an interactive course experience with video lessons, quizzes, practice problems, and final exams, all integrated into an easy-to-use interface that leverages Wolfram's computational capabilities.
This course takes a practical, visual, and non-mathematical approach to SPSS Statistics, explaining how to use the popular program to analyze data in ways that are difficult or impossible in spreadsheets, but which don't require you to master programming languages like Python or R. The course covers all the basics from importing spreadsheets, to making data visualizations, to calculating descriptive statistics.
Laerd Statistics
To complement SPSS training, you can access Laerd Statistics, which provides the ultimate IBM SPSS Statistics guides with step-by-step tutorials perfect for statistics courses, dissertations, and research projects. The platform offers comprehensive coverage of statistical procedures with clear explanations of when and how to use each technique.
Statistics Online Support from UT Austin
Statistics Online Support from UT Austin (https://sites.utexas.edu/sos/) provides tutorials and instruction on commonly used statistical techniques, including both Excel and SPSS implementations where available. This resource is particularly valuable for students who need to understand statistical concepts across multiple software platforms.
With this course, gain insight into key statistical concepts and build practical analytics skills using Python and powerful third-party libraries. The course covers several major skills: cleaning, visualizing, and describing data, statistical inference, and statistical modeling. All concepts are introduced by analyzing intriguing real-world datasets and discussed from a machine-learning perspective—which assumes that powerful computation can replace complex mathematics.
DataCamp's Statistics Track
Building on the Python statistics foundation, DataCamp's Statistics Track (https://www.datacamp.com/tracks/learn-statistics-with-r) offers comprehensive training in statistical concepts using both R and Python. The platform provides hands-on learning through interactive coding exercises and real-world projects that reinforce statistical concepts through practical application.
Harvard's Statistics and R Course
Harvard's Statistics and R Course introduces basic statistical concepts and R programming skills necessary for analyzing data in the life sciences. This course is particularly valuable for students in biological and medical fields who need to apply statistical methods to their research.
Stat Trek
Stat Trek provides free online tutorials covering statistics, probability, regression, analysis of variance, survey sampling, and matrix algebra, all explained in plain English. The platform is particularly strong in its coverage of AP Statistics curriculum and provides comprehensive preparation for standardized statistical assessments.
Introduction to Modern Statistics Tutorials
Introduction to Modern Statistics Tutorials (https://openintrostat.github.io/ims-tutorials/) offers 35 lessons that cover the entire content of modern introductory statistics, with each tutorial corresponding to specific sections of contemporary statistics textbooks. These tutorials are particularly valuable for students using the OpenIntro Statistics textbook series.
Statistical Horizons
Statistical Horizons provides professional-level statistical training through online seminars and courses, offering advanced instruction in specialized statistical methods including social network analysis and multilevel modelling.
