The University Archive collects material relating to the history of the University, which has been in existence since 1838. We also provide help to staff and students who would like to use archives elsewhere. This guide explains what archives are, what we have in our collection, and the types of enquiries we can help with.
An archive can refer to:
Although we usually think of archives as being paper documents, they can also be digital, photographic and audiovisual. Many archive collections also include some books and objects.
Archive items are unique and often fragile. While you will usually be allowed to handle them, you will not be able to borrow items from an archive. You will also be asked to not eat and drink while in an archive, and not to use pens, as these can all damage the documents.
The University Archive is open to researchers from within the University community and also to the general public. Due to limited seating we have available, and the small size of our team, we are currently asking everyone to make an appointment. To make an appointment please contact archive@westminster.ac.uk with details of the items you would like to see from our catalogue. Some digitised and born-digital items are also available to view remotely.
We are also continuing to offer an advice service for University of Westminster staff and students on using archival collections (not just our own).
The Archive team can help you if you would like to use our own collections, or we can help you to find and use archive collections elsewhere.
The types of queries we regularly help students with from our own collections are:
The kind of advice we can offer for using other archives includes
Archival research can be time-consuming so please make sure you give us as much time as possible to help you.
This Guide was created by members of the University Archive who can be contacted by emailing
or chat with us via our catalogue
